PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] Air Pressure Gauge - Where to buy



kankatee
02-11-2009, 02:34 PM
I am looking for an air pressure gauge that can read the pressure of an air tank up to ~150 psi. Based on the reading, I will need to send a digital or adc signal to a micro.

Anyone know where I can get one of these guys?

Thanks.

jes1510
02-11-2009, 02:38 PM
http://www.mcmaster.com/#electronic-pressure-gauges/=k5g64

Does any of those fit the bill?

kankatee
02-11-2009, 02:41 PM
Ouch, slightly expensive. I was hoping for something super stripped down, maybe some sort of break out board..

gdubb2
02-11-2009, 03:42 PM
If you want to send the signal as a 4-20mA, or 1-5 Vdc, signal, you will need a transducer or transmitter. These will run you $200 up.

http://www.mcmaster.com/#about-pressure-transducers/=k64jn

If all you want to do is look at the pressure, plain old pressure guages are cheap, but no transmitter.

If you want to just trip a switch on the pressure. http://www.mcmaster.com/#air-compressor-pressure-switches/=k687y

There are probably cheaper places, but there are more expensive also. Keep safety in mind. Pressure is dangerous stuff, even at lower pressures, thats why the switches and transmitters are so $$.. They have to be safer than one would think.

Gary

robologist
02-11-2009, 03:49 PM
Don't know much about these (http://www.dakotadigital.com/index.cfm/page/ptype=product/product_id=124/category_id=105/home_id=59/mode=prod/prd124.htm), but here they are.

kankatee
02-11-2009, 03:55 PM
Gary, great feedback, thank you.

In essence, I am just trying to turn my pump on and off based on the amount of pressure in the holding tank. Ie, if it drops below 50psi, then run the pump until psi > 50.

Perhaps there is a better way to achieve this..

Adrenalynn
02-11-2009, 04:36 PM
Roborealm has tutorials on using a camera to read gauges. Their tutorial is reading a thermostat. It's a hack, but depending what you have around, it's a great way to turn analog data from old systems into actionable digital data cheaply.

gdubb2
02-11-2009, 07:11 PM
If just refilling the tank, just pop down to your local hardware store and get a replacement switch for a small air compressor.

kankatee
02-11-2009, 08:35 PM
Yeah, here's what I found: http://www.suspensionconnection.com/cgi-bin/suscon/90110.html

Seems like this will do the trick.