PDA

View Full Version : My 914 PC bot



asbrandsson
03-03-2009, 06:58 PM
Hello,

I got my first PC bot from Robotman off of Ebay today.

http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/gallery/showimage.php?i=1041&c=3 (for some reason the pic does not show from my gallery)

you can see it here.

http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/gallery/showimage.php?i=1041&c=3

I have wanted one of these for a long time.

I am going to do some up grades to it, like a intel mini-itx w/ 65 watt core 2 quad processor and a Solid state hard drive.

I have been looking for one of these for a long time to use with my er-1 and now I finally have the chance. I will let everyone know how the progress goes.

Asbrandsson

[Mod Note: I gotcher back, Asbrandsson - and congrats! Here's the pic:

1163 -A]

asbrandsson
03-04-2009, 04:23 PM
Hello,

I just bought an mini-itx board, 4 gig ram and a Intel core 2 quad processor. Everything was there except the processor so I am going to get everything installed in 2 to 3 business days. Hopefully it will be in Friday, but most likely it will be on monday.

Now I am just trying to round up at least a 128 gig solid state and everything will be in order to take the 914 to a new level of AI and use-ability.

Asbrandsson

asbrandsson
03-04-2009, 06:45 PM
Hello,

http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/gallery/files/1/1/3/9/messing_with_914.jpg

I am not sure how to resize this pic, but this is me trying to get this ER-1 GUI work with the 914.

I wish that the Intel board was already installed. Without good processing power the image recognition part runs kind of crappy.

I am having a hell of time finding a Solid State Drive Supplier locally that has any product in stock and that knows anything about them. Is there anyone here with enough experience with them that can recomend one that has a good capacity and reliability at a reasonable price?

Asbrandsson

Adrenalynn
03-04-2009, 07:24 PM
If you've got environmental issues (heat, humidity, vibration) - Emphase is the only real choice, IMHO. I've had about 1800 of them cross my "desk" for installs into semi's.

If you're not as worried about that, the APacer is a good reliable unit. Not as tough, but "tough enough" for an indoor 'bot in most environments. Remember, though, that this is still flash memory. You're limited to a couple million write cycles of lifespan. I certainly would disable any paging!

LogicSupply carries both: http://www.logicsupply.com/categories/flash_memory/flash_disk_drives

asbrandsson
03-04-2009, 07:41 PM
Hello,

That is what I do not understand - they say this hard drive will last 1.5 million hours. Then in the next breath well this is only good for so many writes and will crap out right away.

I want it mostly for one reason - low power consumption. The fact that it can take a beating helps to, but this plateform is not really all season so even if the HD is the rest is not. Most of the SSD's I have looked at use around 1 watt of power to work and there are some I looked at that only use a half a watt when going full out.

I have been looking at this one

http://www.corsair.com/products/ssd/default.aspx

and the 128 gig from G.skill

http://newgskill.web-bi.net/bbs/view.php?id=g_sata&page=1&sn1=&divpage=1&sn=off&ss=on&sc=on&select_arrange=headnum&desc=asc&no=10

I would like to get something more the 128 gig, but anything beyond this seems far out of my budget.

Asbrandsson

Adrenalynn
03-04-2009, 08:33 PM
It will last for a million hours - if you write to it twice an hour. ;)

asbrandsson
03-07-2009, 09:16 AM
Hello,

My project is coming allong. One Monday the Core 2 Quad Processor will be in so I spent five or six hours yesterday trying to switch the hard to a flash drive.

I bought a couple of Patriot Extreme 64 Gig flash drives. I am going to use one to run the OS on and the other for holding pics and video. I do not think that it will work for ever, but I think that it will last until the price of SSD's comes down.

Let me tell you the experience was kind of a living hell. The 914 came with an VIA SP1300 mini-itx board. They discontinued the board - probably because it is crap. I would also like to add that once you experience how a dual core computer operates going back to a single core is very frustrating in it self, just because the computer runs one program at a time kind of crappyly and anything more than that everything just runs half choppy. Anyways it does not support SSD drives. So I had to buy a PCI SATA port card and run the drives off of that.

Then I got a copy of Norton Ghost 14.0 to clone the old drive so that I did not have to re-install everything. If you are thinking about buying a clone program save your money and buy another one. Ghost 14.0 has a bug in it that if you do not do a certain set of actions the cloned drive will not boot properly with windows XP. By sheer luck I figured out how to do it, but it was very frustrating. I felt like I was trying to discover the riddle of steel.

However, now that I got that stage done I would say that although I am not sure how long the SSD will be good for, they are a lot different from conventional drives in that they have awesome fast boot times and they access programs very fast. Both features I think will make them very quickly over take conventional drives.

Asbrandsson

asbrandsson
03-10-2009, 06:45 PM
Hello,

I got the new board, processor and RAM installed in my 914 today. Now I am just finishing up getting all the drivers installed and getting to work on making it mobile.

I am looking around for some benchmarking tools. Like looking at power consumption to make sure that I can run what I have off of a 160 watt PSU.

After that it is just about putting together the applications that I already have into something that is ridiculously fun.

Asbrandsson