PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] Johnny 5 for AI project

Clime
03-07-2009, 03:54 PM
Hello,

I have already posted this to some other robotics forum (lynxmotion's). Hopefully, there is no problem in doing that...

I am very excited about Johnny 5 model and I would like to pick him for my university AI project. Nevertheless, before the final verdict I would highly appreciate advices of some skillful folks here because I am a total beginner at this field. I am a pure programmer and I have not even assembled any robot in my life so that be nice to me when it comes to hardware terms, please:-).

The project goal:
A robot that is able to carry out text commands in a natural language.
Examples of such commands would be:
- Find a red cube and pick it.
- Scan your surroundings and obtain 2D map of it.
- Find a white object and follow its movement (e.g. the rabbit http://www.lynxmotion.net/images/smiles/icon_wink.gif)

The solution outline:
Software part:
Natural language commands are parsed with a program in Prolog that extracts known subgoals (e.g. “pick subgoal” with appropriate parameters that instructs what to pick) and executes C++ function that takes care of this subgoal. The function communicates with the API of RoboRealm for using its image processing features and controlling robot actions. The robot’s task is to listen to these “atomic” action commands and perform them (no autonomous logic).

Hardware part:
The most promising (and coolest:-)) robot for the project I have found so far is Johnny 5 with the following configuration:
- Johnny 5 Combo Kit
- SparkFun Bluetooth® Modem - BlueSMiRF Gold (to enable wireless control)
- One or two pretty good cameras as sensors (to give Johnny vision)
- Power accessories:
> NiMH Quick Connect (mates to battery) (BATC-01)
> Battery Connector with Switch (WH-01)
> 6.0 Volt Ni-MH 2800mAh Battery Pack (BAT-05) (Servos)
> 12 Volt Ni-MH 1600mAh Battery Pack (BAT-01) (Sabertooth and Motors)