PDA

View Full Version : HS-55 Servo problematic movement.

RabidCicada
03-24-2009, 10:26 AM
Hello All you Roboteers,
Hey there guys...I have an HS-55 question too big to fit in the title. I have background information then my questions.

I started with a NerdKit (http://www.nerdkits.com/). Atmel AVR 168 microcontroller.

I have written some control code that seems to work(to a point) for controlling the servo. I am VERY new at robotics but into learning fast. Computer Science by major.

I don't know if I am reading the spec sheet 100% correctly yet(http://www.rctoys.com/pdf/hitec-servos/HIT-HS55.pdf).

It seems like the servo has a range of 1.1-1.9 ms pulse. I interpret this because the spec sheet says 1500us(1.5ms) neutral and 40degree 400us one side pulse travelling. I read this to state that the servo has a total 80degree total movement.

I know,from general reading, that there's generally a window in which the pulse should be sent 10ms-20ms.

I plan to use a 15ms window and send my control pulse every 15ms when I get to implementing timers. I hear that hobby servos are pretty forgiving in terms of the window.

I created a test program.
I send 3 pulses 3 seconds apart just to test movement. One pulse at 1.1ms(left most). Wait 3 seconds. One pulse at 1.5ms(center). Wait 3 seconds. And One pulse at 1.9ms(right most). All of this assumes that my interpretation of the spec sheet was right.

What I noticed was that the overall movement of the servo is not matching what it should. The "left" movement moves much smaller than 40degrees. The "center" movement hardly moves the servo at all from the "left" movement. The "right" movement moves similar distance to the "left" but in the right direction. In total all the movements are much smaller than they should be.
My code: (http://pastebin.com/f132cfa09)

I dont know how the mechanics of the servo "window" work. Nor was I able to read anything about it for this specific servo from the spec sheet.