PDA

View Full Version : Which Arduino Board



cross1933
04-08-2009, 10:20 AM
I have been looking at the http://www.arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoBoardDiecimila which costs $34.95 and the http://www.arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoBoardDuemilanove for $30.00. Any suggestions, why?

robologist
04-08-2009, 10:53 AM
I'd get the Duemilanove since it's $5 cheaper and will auto select between USB power and jack power, and probably has a Mega328p with more memory instead of a Mega168. (something after March I read in the comparision page http://arduino.cc/en/Main/Boards )

lnxfergy
04-08-2009, 11:25 AM
Only problem I can see with the Mega328 is that it's fairly new... if you are using AVR-GCC you'll need version > 4.3, and AVR-LIBC > 1.6. I believe the latest release of WinAVR has that, but if you are on a Mac or Linux box, you may have to build from scratch.

-Fergs

cross1933
04-08-2009, 01:12 PM
Dumb question on the boards. Is the USB connection used to program the board?

Adrenalynn
04-08-2009, 01:42 PM
Yes, it's used to program (and power if you don't need much) the board.

Both my Duemilanove and Diecimila have 168's in them...

salsaman
04-08-2009, 03:42 PM
I put together a list of available Arduino-compatible boards to help compare:
http://jmsarduino.blogspot.com/2009/03/comprehensive-arduino-compatible.html
The best deal for "everything" (USB, Adruino form factor, voltage regulator) seems to be the NKC Freeduino kit for $24, but Diecimilas are going for under $30, so maybe not much savings with the kit.

cross1933
04-09-2009, 06:14 AM
Only problem I can see with the Mega328 is that it's fairly new... if you are using AVR-GCC you'll need version > 4.3, and AVR-LIBC > 1.6. I believe the latest release of WinAVR has that, but if you are on a Mac or Linux box, you may have to build from scratch.

-Fergs

For my usage, two sensors and two motor connections, I think the Diecimilia is a better choice.

Adrenalynn
04-09-2009, 12:09 PM
The I/O is exactly the same. The boards have the same connectors in the same places - I'm not sure how the Diecimilia could end-up the better choice, esp. considering that most have the smaller processor and are discontinued in favor of the newer board...

cross1933
04-22-2009, 10:49 AM
I am considering using the Diecimilia board with inputs from limit switches. Can the Diecimilia accept input status from a limit switch, this can be a closed/open contact or a voltage when the switch is closed?

jes1510
04-22-2009, 10:57 AM
Easily:
http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Button

The Duemilanove of course will support the same thing. The Newest Arduino IDE supports the Duemilanove (and the older boards as well) so you shouldn't have any problems.

cross1933
04-22-2009, 11:35 AM
Easily:
http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Button

The Duemilanove of course will support the same thing. The Newest Arduino IDE supports the Duemilanove (and the older boards as well) so you shouldn't have any problems.

I am concerned with sensors and the environment that they will be operating in. The physical limit switch will not be effected by any external things and should provide a more reliable situation.

Thanks

Adrenalynn
04-22-2009, 12:12 PM
A limit switch is a button, as Jes was pointing out, which is probably the most trivial thing that can be interfaced to any microcontroller. A switch is a switch, whether it's called a "switch", a "button", or "that thingamagig that turns stuff on and off." ;)

cross1933
04-22-2009, 12:41 PM
A limit switch is a button, as Jes was pointing out, which is probably the most trivial thing that can be interfaced to any microcontroller. A switch is a switch, whether it's called a "switch", a "button", or "that thingamagig that turns stuff on and off." ;)

Not sure what you what idea you are trying to convey here?

jes1510
04-22-2009, 01:22 PM
She's saying that a limit switch is the exact same as a button. The code I posted earlier will work with limit switches, push buttons, or even two wires held together. they all work the same

Gorbag
04-25-2009, 06:26 PM
I am considering using the Diecimilia board with inputs from limit switches. Can the Diecimilia accept input status from a limit switch, this can be a closed/open contact or a voltage when the switch is closed?

As has already been pointed out, a limit switch is a switch, so no problems interfacing it. But I would caution you that limit switches are generally safety switches, and used to cut power to a misbehaving motor to avoid loss to property or injury to an operator. As such, it isn't sufficient to simply use it as an input to a computer controller, you really should have a hard brake/clutch or whatever to stop whatever it is that has gone awry! (Consider what happens if your code has a bug and ignores the limit switch. If nothing bad happens, it's not really a limit switch in that application...)