PDA

View Full Version : [Discussion] Wishful Thinking?

trevben1
05-01-2009, 10:44 PM
Hey all,
I am a second year mechanical engineering student and I was considering working on a project with two second year computer engineering students. I have little to no practical experience working with electronics and control systems and they are not to much better at this point. The project is to build a robotic foosball player for one side of the table. The question is do you think its possible for three amatures to take on a project like this?

I love to mess around in my garage and I have the tools available to me. Love to hear your opinions, I know what general sensors and motors I could use and between the three of us we can definitively work out the programming.

Adrenalynn
05-02-2009, 12:51 AM
Welcome to the forum!

Absolutely the three of you could take on that project. I'd be interested what you'd use, I have a few ideas myself, and I'm sure others here would find that the kind of fascinating project that would draw them in.

Sure - by all means you guys would have a blast with that project - I would. :)

Do you have a major deadline? Any budget in mind?

jes1510
05-02-2009, 01:16 AM
I thought I had seen something like this before. Perhaps this could give you a starting point:
http://www.informatik.uni-freiburg.de/~kiro/english/index.html

lnxfergy
05-02-2009, 09:08 AM
Motorizing the foosball controls for one side of the table shouldn't be terribly hard. The part I think you'll find challenging is the control of those motors, how do you propose to keep track of the ball and decide where to place your men? A possible solution I could see is to mount a camera over the table so it gets a world view (similar to what the human competitors get...).

-Fergs

trevben1
05-02-2009, 09:58 AM
Good to hear! I'm much to obsessed with the idea to back down now lol.

Do you have a major deadline? Any budget in mind?