PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] Best robotics Language?

trevben1
05-07-2009, 09:46 AM
hey all,
I was wondering which programming language you think is best for robotics. I'm a complete beginner in the research stage of building a robotic foosball player and I already know how to program in matlab and C+ but from what I can tell C# is the best. I want to make sure before I put in the effort to learn it though lol.

DresnerRobotics
05-07-2009, 10:03 AM
There really isn't one.

It is entirely a matter of personal preference and what works best for you. With today's technology pretty much any language that can talk to a comm port can be used for robotics.

trevben1
05-07-2009, 10:08 AM
Great! I like Matlab and find it really intuitive and since the a physical model will be fairly straight forward to program I think I'd love to use it. The one thing I wouldnt know how to do would be communicating with the comm port or usb whichever I end up using. I've had classes in both C+ and matlab but neither of them covered recieving any external inputs or delivering outputs.

lnxfergy
05-07-2009, 10:14 AM
As tybs said, varies based what you want to do.

Most vision software will be C/C++ because it is fast. Same goes for any lower level code.

C# probably isn't too much slower than C/C++, but, it is somewhat proprietary.

Quite a few people around here like Python, for it ease of use, but I would have a hard time telling you to do visual processing in Python.

If at any point you need to use a microcontroller to interface with the outside world, you'll probably have to program that in C.

-Fergs

darkback2
05-07-2009, 10:16 AM
A better question might be...what robotics platforms work with matlab...The dynamixel USB (http://www.trossenrobotics.com/robotis-bioloid-usb2dynamixel.aspx)thingy does, and can control dynamixel servos. I think the lego mindstorms NXT does also.

Hope this helps.

DB

trevben1
05-07-2009, 10:22 AM