PDA

View Full Version : Roboard Questions



sniperscope
05-07-2009, 10:41 AM
Hello everyone:

Before I place my order for the Roboard, could someone please answer the following;

1- Confirm that u can use AX12's. I have a bunch of these and want to make good use of them.

2- if using the Roboard, can they be daisy chained or do they each have to be plugged into the Roboard?


3-Confirm that u can use the AX-S1?.


Thanks

lnxfergy
05-07-2009, 10:57 AM
You'll have to add a small amount of circuitry, to get your Roboard full-duplex port to act like a half-duplex. There are a couple of circuits out there for doing this.

Also, I believe the Roboard isn't capable of 1MBps serial, so you'll have to slow down your servo baud rate a little.

-Fergs

DresnerRobotics
05-07-2009, 11:19 AM
If you want full speed on your Dynamixel bus, using a USB2Dynamixel is also a nice alternative.

Regardless, yes it can use them but a certain amount of electronics knowledge would be required to understand the physical interface. They are not "Plug and Play". All Dynamixel devices are daisy-chain capable, its by nature of their interface.

An AX-S1 acts just like a servo, so yes you can use them.