PDA

View Full Version : Xbee socket



Resilient
05-25-2009, 02:11 AM
I got a pair of Xbees and a USB connector for one. I was planning on just using an IC socket for the other but now find that it is not a standard pin spacing. My college electronics shop doesn't have a socket that will fit the Xbee pin spacing.

Where do I find such a socket?

robologist
05-25-2009, 03:26 AM
Here's one : http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=8272

But you're gonna need more than a USB socket to connect XBee to USB. That's why they make this module : http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=8687 to have it already built with the USB translator and voltage regulator added in.

DresnerRobotics
05-25-2009, 09:28 AM
Also on the non-USB side, you'll need a 3.3v reg and a logic level shifter for the TX and RX if you want to connect them to 5v TTL

Adrenalynn
05-25-2009, 11:46 AM
It's 2mm pin spacing. You can't just get a standard socket since it will just put 2mm out again. You need an adapter board and you need 2mm headers for the top and 0.10" headers for the bottom. The one I use: http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=8276

Paired with the 2mm headers above (2 required) and these: http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=115 on the bottom. Some assembly (aka soldering) required. And yes, agree with Tybs - you'll still need to build a power supply and signal level matcher.

jes1510
05-25-2009, 12:13 PM
This board will take care of the 5v to 3.3v conditioning and the 3.3v power supply:
http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=9132

DresnerRobotics
05-25-2009, 12:19 PM
This board will take care of the 5v to 3.3v conditioning and the 3.3v power supply:
http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=9132


Yup, these are great. THey're already on order to carry here at Trossen too.