PDA

View Full Version : [Project] Motion sensor controlled Tilt and Pan Camera (wireless)

ACEX
07-02-2009, 05:09 PM
Project: Aim: Create a Motion controlled camera.
By this I mean want to link up the Vuzix iWear VR920 image below ( I also have the SDK for this):http://www.vuzix.com/iwear/_images/box_small_vr920.jpg
and want to attach it to a simple pan and tilt camera mount. I will build this using two servos.

I want to be able to view the image of the camera on the screen in the glasses and want the camera to move as I move my head.

There is a catch however.
I plan on installing this on a RC plane which means this setup has to be both light and small. With preferably a range of up to 500meters.

My real problem is I fail to see how I can connect the motion sensor to the Video camera mount. The audio and video transferint is no problem already solved.

I'm sorry if this is extremely easy to do but I'm new to this and any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys

I was also considering using a webcam however again the connection seems to be the problem.

nagmier
07-02-2009, 07:45 PM
Check out this link for the head tracking, thats the hard part, the pan and tilt servo control is cake.

YouTube - Head Tracking for Desktop VR Displays using the WiiRemote

Noodle
07-02-2009, 08:53 PM
The solution I see is a gyroscope attached to your head wirelessly sending the values to another microcontroller onboard the RC plane, which just plays with the servos. Alternatively, if you have enough channels left on your controller, you could, and I'm not sure how to, but you could hack the controller to send the pulses from the gyro without having an onboard microcontroller. I'm sure this message is incredibly vague but oh well.

Adrenalynn
07-02-2009, 11:23 PM