PDA

View Full Version : Wifi to Control AX12 Mech??

DC Robotic
07-11-2009, 09:36 AM
I ran across this WiFly GSX 802.11b/g Serial Module - Roving Networks.
http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=9290

I was wondering if it would be suitable to control AX12's over wifi? It looks like it can handle the full com speed of the AX12 bus. Plus it has some capacity for I/O.

I'm still a noob with the communications. I would like to keep all the briains for my mech offboard on my laptop running a C# program. At this point I'm trying to limit the number of new disciplines I need to learn. Would prefer not to have to learn all about programming micros (right now) if possible.

What I would like to accomplish is replacing the USB cable from Laptop to USB2Dynamixel on Mech with wireless solution suitable for Robogames. Also to have enough I/O to fire guns or other simple actions. I also want to be sure not to introduce huge latency issues

I would really appreciate comments/suggestions.

Darrell

nagmier
07-11-2009, 01:14 PM
From what I gathered WiFi was relatively reliable at robogames (I wasn't there so someone who was could answer that better) though xbee seems to be the method of choice

darkback2
07-11-2009, 01:40 PM
I used wifi to control my bots and transfer video. Uniquely I have two PC controlled mechs...As in onboard PC controlled over wifi.

Wifi was reliable...but everyone who was getting video over wifi experienced really slow video, and lost packets were common. There was a lot of interference, and I had trouble keeping people off of my network...probably should have used some sort of WEP encryption...but I was way too lazy...

I think lost packets were common with xbee also...

I would not plan on sending all of your servo positions over wifi...lost packet and your robot becomes...well you get it. The other option would be to have your robot be really slow, and incorporate some sort of error checking.