PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] Hexapod hardware for research projects

Stephen
09-22-2009, 05:11 PM
Hello.

Please forgive the newbie questions I'm about to post! I'm a software developer now studying for a degree in intelligent systems and robotics in my 'spare time'. I have current and future research project needs and I'm hoping to garner some initial help here regarding hardware. For starters the robot(s) will be fully autonomous and I want to write the behavioural programming in C (I have experience in many languages and I have my preferences for C here!). This somewhat leads me to my hardware selection problem.

I'm quite new to hardware and certainly don't have the expertise or resources to build my own parts, so I've been looking at various robot kits here, Lynxmotion, Vex etc. (up to now I've just been using basic LEGO kits). Research plans involve something of the hexapod variety and Lynxmotion seem to have some great hardware. Flexible limbs are going to be important to me (I'm looking more specifically at their round-bodied hexapods with the 3-DOF legs). Lynxmotion also offer additional parts for their main hardware that will be of interest (the add-on deck and feet sensors for instance) and it seems that overall the hardware is unmatched by any Vex options. Aside from my running Linux (I do however have a VM Windows XP Pro as a last resort) I simply do not want to be coding in any form of BASIC, and herein lies my problem with Lynxmotion!