PDA

View Full Version : How to differentiate between glass and plastic and other materials

karakuli
09-27-2009, 04:33 PM
Hi, I just found this cool forum through google.
I have a school project to design and hopefully build an automatic material sorter. There are 4 materials (aluminum, glass, plastic, steel) and a random object. There are also basic limitations on dimensions

I was thinking about using conductivity to differentiate between steel and aluminum and a light sensor between glass and plastic. The only problem is that I have never used a light sensor before - and is it possible to differentiate between the two? Because the thickness and the color are pretty much random - how can I ensure that 2 don't get mixed up? Would using different wavelengths help?

If you have any other ideas on how to automaticly sort 4 materials, please feel free to share!
Thanks

ScuD
09-28-2009, 11:41 AM
I can't come up with an idea as to differentiating between glass and plastic, but you could use magnetism to decide which is aluminum and which is steel.
An electromagnet would pick up any steel whilst the rest would just pass by, so you could use the transparency to detect which is aluminum and thus have no need for physical touching.

Adrenalynn
09-28-2009, 11:57 AM
Awhile back I posted a cheapie spectral analyzer using an Arduino and some various LEDs. I'll search around and see if I find it.

robologist
09-28-2009, 03:09 PM
Was this it? Or something similar? http://www.creative-technology.net/MAKE.html

Adrenalynn
09-28-2009, 03:20 PM
Similar. In my thread I talked about how he and I corresponded, and the changes I made. Trying to get some xbees to behave, I'll look it up when I have time (or just play with that one. :) )

Obscene
09-28-2009, 09:09 PM