PDA

View Full Version : giving up on the web

jmm
01-08-2010, 02:24 PM
i have no idea what im getting into and i have looked on every web site i can find. i know this mught be a simple project for some of you out there but like i said i have no idea...

im a furniture builder and i have built some flatscreen stands with accuators befor but i have had a request for one that will house a smaller television, lift out of its housing with an accuator and will follow the owner maybe with a motion sensor around the room so that it can be seen. it will only be 180 degrees of movement. i have never heard of anything like this befor but i figured that this website would be a good place to start. any suggestions? if im in the wrong place im sorry but i had to try...

Quantum
01-08-2010, 03:08 PM
Lots of people want this type of sensor that will follow a person. But it dosent exist and there isnt a real simple solution. Detecting motion is one thing and not that hard to accomplish but tracking is a whole different thing.

You would need multiple motion sensors and arrange them so each detects a portion of the 180 degree field of sight. This still wouldnt make tracking perfect but is probably the simplest way to set this up. Im sure there are camera and computer setups with some advanced software that would make this work but it would probably cost 2 -3x the cost of the television. If not more.

darkback2
01-08-2010, 03:35 PM
They were talking about a TV that looks back at you, and routes the sound to where you are sitting. If you think about it, a person watching TV should have their face turned towards the TV. Why not use a webcam with face recognition software. The camera could track the persons face, and turn the TV so that their face was centered.

It would definately be expensive...

DB

zoomkat
01-08-2010, 04:34 PM
If the person would be ok with using a tv remote control as a becon to identify his location, then the solution may be more affordable and less complex.

jmm