PDA

View Full Version : Animatronic Toucan

starace
01-09-2010, 10:28 AM
Hi all, I'm new to the forum here. First post and all.
Here's a Toco Toucan I just finished building.

Here's a video of Toco singing Lady Gaga's Bad Romance - this was just a test and his beak wasn't finished yet.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=0tiuzY8y9mU

And here's my youtube channel where you can see more.
www.youtube.com/patstarace

I'm a 2D/3D Animator, Artist, Modelmaker and I have been creating my own Animatronics for years now.
Toco the Toucan's skeleton is all cnc'd on my mill. He has 10 servos, speaker, speaker cabinet,
amp, BS2 stamp to control his iPOD, bluetooth, lipos, foam latex skin, brain and of course his iPOD.
He also has 2,000 hand sewn feathers to finish him off.

He's TOTALLY self contained and I hold him perched on my hand. The only time he's sitting is when I'm
making a video.

Enjoy

Pat Starace

www.patstarace.com

http://i886.photobucket.com/albums/ac68/patstarace/Animatronics/TocoStill.jpg

jes1510
01-09-2010, 02:21 PM
Man that is beautiful work! do you have any build photos? I would love to see how this thing is put together.

Adam
01-10-2010, 09:46 PM
Wow, you have mad skills. Taste in music is a little suspect though... :p

starace
01-11-2010, 05:43 PM
Jes, Thanks for the compliment. I didn't take many pictures along, but I'll see what I have.

Adam, Thanks. Ahhhhh the music. Lady Gaga! :-) a little girl asked me for that one.
He was loaded with Christmas tunes, hence the (I think great Feliz Navidad) version he does.
Now I'm getting him ready for the long haul. He'll have over 100 songs ranging from
young children's to frank sinatra. It does take a while to do each song,
multi-tracks to sequence his movements to, and then dump them to the ipod.

Enjoy and I'll post more videos as I make them.

Thanks for the replies.

Pat Starace

www.patstarace.com

Orac
01-11-2010, 06:22 PM
Fantastic, what servos did you use?

Noog
01-11-2010, 06:37 PM
Welcome to the forum!