PDA

View Full Version : Help on Robotic Arm

Homosapien
01-31-2010, 09:51 PM
I am currently studying Robotics and Iíve been lurking around reading up on Robotics. I am working on an industrial Robotic Arm using 7DOF and I have been out of my wits trying to get some help on this. Locally, itís been hard for me to get some help and somehow, I thought I would check out if there were any websites/forums that might be able to help me out so here I am wondering if anyone of you would be kind enough to provide with me some designs in terms of mechanical components?

The motion that I am using is almost the same as a human arm and can hold up 3 kg of things. I want to use electrical actuators and gears, preferably at a low cost and light weight.

As I stated above, I need help on the mechanical design (mechanism) movement of the arm. I would really appreciate it if anyone can help me on this. I seriously have tried getting help elsewhere and Robotics isnít something that is big here Ė not yet, anyway! So here I am Ė trying on a forum!

Many thanks in advance!

jes1510
01-31-2010, 10:15 PM
The problem is the weight that you want to lift. You specify 3kg and want to use cheap actuators. That probably isn't going to happen. Can you give us more information such as a mechanical drawing?

Homosapien
02-01-2010, 12:35 AM
The problem is the weight that you want to lift. You specify 3kg and want to use cheap actuators. That probably isn't going to happen. Can you give us more information such as a mechanical drawing?

Actually I was looking for someone that might be able to help me out with the drawings? A website with basic drawing, perhaps?

badcommandorfilename
02-01-2010, 04:24 AM
Do you need help doing a technical drawing of your arm? Here is a quick guide to 3rd angle projection (http://www.technologystudent.com/designpro/ortho2.htm)(although some places prefer 1st angle).