PDA

View Full Version : [Project] Coil Gun school project.

elios
03-03-2010, 10:48 PM
Heyall,

Would like to share this with the trossen community. Might even post up a tutorial when finished ;)

This was meant as a school project to engage my mind, challenge, and help me teach others about electronics whilst I am still learning it myself.

currently we have a glass tube with one coil, firing a 20mm x 5mm (round) mild steel slug.

The coil is a 20 awg (?) clear insulated copper wire, turned onto a custom made spindle at slow rpm (on a lathe to get turns accurate). 65 turns long, and 30 turns high, making it a total of 1950 copper turns.

Have one MOSFET hooked up to two power supplies. those powersupplies are in series, so we have 22.8V at 6.58A max. Currently the MOSFET is allowing 750mA at 22.8V through it, so tomorrow I am wiring up another two power supplies and another MOSFET to get the current going.

Its quite pathetic as the slug is only moving 5cm max, but switching it manually gives us upwards of one metre, so that is the reason for the getting more power supplies.

Updates as they happen.

Will post photos and grab more accurate readings once I am at school tomorrow :)

(not really robotics, but thought people might want to have a geez :) mods feel free to shift between forums)

elios
03-05-2010, 02:50 AM
some photos that i said i would post. I have four power supplies now, but only the top two are in use as they are meant to be teachers only, "unlimited" supplies.

elios
03-16-2010, 11:49 PM
another note,

last week i ended up rewinding the secondary coil, and its awesome.

I stepped up the current from the power supplies to about 5A and ended up burning out the MOSFETS. got the slug firing at around 30ms^-1 exiting teh barrel completely.

have ordered some mofo huge Power FETS @ 169A capacity.

going to be using the capacitor again, to try and get an even bigger wack thru the coils. :)