PDA

View Full Version : Way off topic. Any Musicians here?

Quantum
03-15-2010, 11:51 PM
My new baby. I put robots on hold. I know I just said that. But it was worth it.

Bought bare wood components and went from there.

This baby has something like 30-40 coats of paint. Each layer wet sanded. Lots of work but a super smooth finish.

One crazy set of strings.

darkback2
03-16-2010, 02:20 PM
I actually came to the world of robotics through music. I started playing violin, and from there went to computers...Then I started looking for ways to make electronic music more interactive. From there getting into sensors and actuators was a very small step.

I came to this website looking for phidgets because the midi sensor interface I was using died, and I couldn't find a replacement.

I still use MAX/MSP a music program to control my robots. It sort of leaves me out of a lot of the loops in terms of using a lot of the stuff out there, but I can get most things done in my own way.

As for the guitar...Fender style guitars aren't really my style. I find the tone relatively shrill. The double bickup by the bridge should help tone it down though...nice job on the paint. Any thoughts on using servos to control the tuners? or lights in the neck to show what chords to play...or...

:)

Adam
03-16-2010, 09:46 PM
Nice looking EVH guitar. Warmoth?

About 18 months ago I built a black korina strat with a Floyd, Evo HSH pickups, and black hardware. I finished it in tung oil. I'm more of a classical player, so the Warmoth pretty much just hangs on the wall lookin' pretty.

I just got a flamenco guitar and started flamenco lessons last week.

Adam
03-16-2010, 09:53 PM
As for the guitar...Fender style guitars aren't really my style. I find the tone relatively shrill. The double bickup by the bridge should help tone it down though...nice job on the paint.

That's why they have a tone knob. :wink:

Any thoughts on using servos to control the tuners?