PDA

View Full Version : 1st time RoboGames attendee

Stobs
04-04-2010, 05:36 PM
Hi All,

This will be my first time going to the RoboGames (2010) and I'm also new to robotics in general. I'm mostly interested in the mech-warfare activities (air & hopefully hard). but will try to attend all three days (I might only be able to make Sat & Sun events). Any suggestions for an older "newbie?"

I'll probably be driving up daily, from Seaside (about an hr away), so suggestions on places to eat, and where to park would be great, along with any budget considerations (like, is food at the convention pricey?), would also be most helpful!

Thanks,
Paul

DresnerRobotics
04-04-2010, 06:32 PM
Saturday/Sunday will likely be our competition days anyway, so you should be fine there. Friday will likely be an exhibition/practice day.

Can't suggest any food or parking tips as it is at a brand new venue this year, all new for us as well!

gdubb2
04-04-2010, 06:34 PM
Hey Paul,
Welcome to the world of robotics. There will be a lot of stuff going on at RoboGames, so do try to take in as much as you can.

San Mateo is a new venue for most of us, RoboGames has always been in San Francisco. Usually at Fort Mason Center, but once at San Francisco State U. They have had The Combots Cup at San Mateo, but I didn't go.

So it's sort of an unknown entity. There is parking at the venue. If it's like the parking at Fort Mason, it will be cheaper to not leave unless you have to. Except on foot.

Good Luck
Gary

dcalkins
04-04-2010, 10:40 PM
Food: Made to order pasta on-site. Very tasty. Otehr stuff too, but the pasta's the best.

Robots: By intent, it's a 3-ring circus. If you see everything and meet everyone, I have failed. So be there as much as you can - watch other events, hang in the pits, and talk to people.

Night: Stay at the official hotel and watch me drink far too many Guinness' with Andrew at the hotel sports bar. Place bets on who falls over first: the fat guy or the ex-soldier.