PDA

View Full Version : Pose Editing System

Robonaut
04-29-2010, 01:32 PM
I've been enjoying my long put off robotics hobby for 2 months now and I'm quite please with it all. Like any newbie I have had far too many idea's rattling around in my head while still learning the ins and outs of it all.

I think it's so cool to be able to capture poses that bring my creations to life. While there is so much to learn just about that aspect I'm really liking it. So much so that I have had some thoughts about an editing system that came to me after checking out the ArtboX Commander and watching JonHylanders voodoo controlled J5 that Tyberius pointed me to.

http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/showthread.php?t=1319&highlight=voodoo

I'm not so sure if this can be done or if it has already been done in some other way. Either way any pointers, suggestions, guidance or comments will be greatly appreciated. While I have some electronic skills they are fairly well limited to assembly and basically how components work.

The idea for the system would consist of 3 XBee's, an ArbotiX Commander and Robocontroller along with the Pypose for the editing software. Yup 3 XBee's. Not sure they can work in this way but I'm thinking they may be able to.

http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=1904&stc=1&d=1272658056

My thoughts are if I have the Xbees for the Commander and the computer configured exactly the same they could both communicate to the ArbotiX Robocontroller. Most likely just not at the same time.