PDA

View Full Version : Arm IK

Adam
05-28-2010, 11:33 AM
Hello,

I have arm IK working. However, I have done no formal study on IK, and I'm not sure how my implementation works compared to other approaches. I pretty much just worked out the trigonometry and wrote a software algorithm to do it (I'm a software engineer). I have some questions.

First, when working out the goal positions for a given target point, do you iterate over the entire motion to find the final goal positions up front before moving, or do you physically move in increments and calculate the direction to move at each step? I tried it both ways, and I can only get smooth motion by pre-calculating the final goal positions.

I'll hold off on asking more questions for now. Thanks.

darkback2
05-28-2010, 11:39 AM
Probably your best bet is to post the math that you are using to do what you are doing as well as perhaps some video would help too. Maybe even some sample code?

Quantum
05-28-2010, 12:44 PM
Calculate the end postion first and calculating in incremeants on the fly. Is the way to do it.

I do both and super fluid movements.

Ive finished my IK & FK equations for my Parallax Propeller controller board based of Xan's IK equations. This will be a seperate post with videos/software etc. Dont want to hijack this thread. This weekend I have alot of time.

But the way I have done it is you figure out your end position. The fastest possible movement is from your current servo postion to your end servo postion. But this still will make your movements look jumpy. I created a simple loop that depending on how many steps I want with the start to end loop. Depending on the steps/program loops this value is my interpolation rate.

EX: Servo1 @ 1500 & Servo2 @ 1000 I want to go to Servo1 @ 2000 & Servo2 @ 2000 my loop/interpolation is 10