PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] Bioloid LiPo's

SteamAutomaton
06-01-2010, 10:54 AM
Dear Community:

Quick question, "What is the largest size LiPo that a Premium Bioloid handle?

Note: I am still learning about battery power. I am used to wall power.:rolleyes:

Next quick question, "Where is a good tutorial about batteries?"

Yours,
Steam Automaton

JonHylands
06-01-2010, 10:59 AM
If you're talking about voltage, you need to use a 3S - its pretty much your only choice.

Current wise, it doesn't matter. I use a pair of 8-amp-hour 3S packs in parallel on Brainbot. Roz (my quad walker) uses a 2000 mAh 3S pack.

- Jon

lnxfergy
06-01-2010, 11:45 AM
Issy, SMALdog, and Reaver all use this 11.1V 2100mAH pack (http://www.trossenrobotics.com/store/p/6293-3S-11-1V-2100mAh-Pro-Lite-V2-20C-LiPo-Battery.aspx) On a biped, the most important point will be weight. Seeing as the stock pack is a 9.6V 2300mAh pack, and lipo is quite a bit lighter than NiMH, that pack I linked to *should* be lighter, but I'm not sure.

Next quick question, "Where is a good tutorial about batteries?"

Not sure about "good", but there is a section on batteries in So You Want To Build A Robot? (http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/tutorials/introduction-129/so-you-want-to-build-a-robot-3126/)

Also of interest might be Power Supply Basics (http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/tutorials/how-to-diy-128/power-supply-basics-3258/)

-Fergs

billyzelsnack
06-01-2010, 04:47 PM
You also can get away with a lower C rating pack because the current draw on a Bioloid is so much lower than for typical RC use. Which is nice because that means your pack will be cheaper and most likely lighter.

SteamAutomaton
06-01-2010, 10:45 PM