PDA

View Full Version : New here and looking for advice

Forlorn Foundry
06-01-2010, 08:43 PM
Hello everyone--

I just found out about Mech Warfare and I have to say I'm completely taken with it. :D

I've had some experience with robots... I was on the First team back in high school, and I competed in Battlebots twice. I have my own machine shop and do a lot of aluminum casting but I don't know anything about programming and codes.

I've been looking at the lynxmotion BRAT with the 645 servos, from what I have read it seems to be a good springboard for someone new to programming. I think that having a working code that I can play with as I learn will be very helpful.

Am I on the right track in thinking that this is a good start for someone new to programming? Is BASIC Atom good for the first timer?

Any more info or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Bryan

lnxfergy
06-01-2010, 09:01 PM
This is still a bit of a can of worms, and I'm sure to be jumped on for this response, but:

The Lynxmotion kits are phenomenal for getting you going fast, great documentation/tutorials and the code is all there and ready to go.

That said, we've still yet to see a BRAT really compete in Mech Warfare. I know Miss Alignment had serious connection issues this year, but even then, they had upgraded to what I believe were 5990 servos. It's still a major point of contention whether a 645 BRAT can actually perform as necessary.

I've you are just getting started, a quad might be a better choice for the first year -- a biped is a tough project, and with the inclusion of qualification rounds, we've raised the bar quite a bit just to get on the ladder.

-Fergs

gdubb2
06-01-2010, 09:15 PM
Hey Bryan,
Welcome to the group. Great to have another combat veteran coming to this side of things. I competed in Battlebots, and Robogames for many years with my middleweights Maggot and Botfly.