PDA

View Full Version : RX-24F voltage



Adam
06-03-2010, 02:47 PM
Do these new actuators work with 4S lipo?

DresnerRobotics
06-03-2010, 04:24 PM
Nope. 3S would be max. They're rated for 12v, just like an AX-12. Different motor in these, uses less voltage and higher current.

Adam
06-03-2010, 04:36 PM
That's unfortunate. They can't be mixed on a 4S RX-64/RX-28 bus on the lowest load joints to save cost.

lnxfergy
06-03-2010, 04:38 PM
That's unfortunate. They can't be mixed on a 4S RX-64/RX-28 bus on the lowest load joints to save cost.

No, but you could power them off the same supply as AX-12s (still need separate buses, but no crazy power regulators).

-Fergs

DresnerRobotics
06-03-2010, 04:47 PM
That's unfortunate. They can't be mixed on a 4S RX-64/RX-28 bus on the lowest load joints to save cost.

Honestly I think the intention here is compatibility with the AX-12+ and AX-18F using a dual-bus board like the CM-700. Robotis doesn't always design products with 3rd party controllers in mind.

Adam
06-03-2010, 04:48 PM
No, but you could power them off the same supply as AX-12s (still need separate buses, but no crazy power regulators).


In that case, it probably would be better just to run AX-12's if the extra torque isn't needed. I may do that for the wrist and gripper of a long arm. As you said in my other thread, it should be fine to run 2 ft of wire to the AX-12's out on the end. It would be really costly (and unnecessary) to have RX-28's out there, but it would make the wiring more tidy. I already have both AX and RX buses anyway. Then again, fiscal responsibility has never been one of my goals... :D

Adam
06-03-2010, 04:50 PM
Honestly I think the intention here is compatibility with the AX-12+ and AX-18F using a dual-bus board like the CM-700. Robotis doesn't always design products with 3rd party controllers in mind.

Sure, that makes sense... I'm just selfish and want a $140 RX servo that runs on 4S. ;)

DresnerRobotics
06-03-2010, 04:57 PM
Sure, that makes sense... I'm just selfish and want a $140 RX servo that runs on 4S. ;)

Welcome to the RX-10! The pinnacle achievement of underwhelming RX series servo performance! (I don't stock them for a reason).

SteamAutomaton
06-03-2010, 05:02 PM
No, but you could power them off the same supply as AX-12s (still need separate buses, but no crazy power regulators).

-Fergs
Can the Arbotix do both buses at the same time?

SA;)

lnxfergy
06-03-2010, 05:26 PM
Can the Arbotix do both buses at the same time?

SA;)

Not yet.

-Fergs

SteamAutomaton
06-04-2010, 06:40 AM
Not yet.

-Fergs
{Evil Laugh}
BWAA HA HA HA! :mad:
{/Evil Laugh}

SA:D

lnxfergy
06-04-2010, 07:04 AM
I really should have said "check back in about 3 weeks"

-Fergs

SteamAutomaton
06-04-2010, 07:16 AM
I really should have said "check back in about 3 weeks"

-Fergs
Well right now I have enough stuff to keep me occupied for awhile. Plus, I haven't dove into the software too much yet. Until then, no more hardware.

What is the max number of servos that the Arbotix can orchestrate?

SA;)

UncleBob
11-06-2010, 01:33 AM
Surprise thought the rx24 can take 4cells read from somewhere