PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] serializer questions

nuttyboffin
06-09-2010, 12:16 PM
Hi,
im new to this forum and thinking of getting the serializer but wish to know a few questions:

i am new to robotics (non lego) and want to know how hard it will be to use the serializer?
does it need to be connected to the computer to run or can it run a program you upload to it?
i am quite good at C# but how advanced would i need to be to program the serializer?
is it actualy worth the money or is there another, better one out there that works with the .Net framework?
are there lots of tutorials for it and support?

thanks,

Tom Williamson

defwheezer
06-09-2010, 03:45 PM
1.i am new to robotics (non lego) and want to know how hard it will be to use the serializer?

Fairly easy assuming you know how to hook up the serial/USB cord from the board to your PC. There are a number of apps on the Robotics Connections website that can be used to test the various functionalities of the board too.

2. does it need to be connected to the computer to run or can it run a program you upload to it?

You need a computer to run this board, think of it as an interface between your PC any sensors/motors on your bot.

3. i am quite good at C# but how advanced would i need to be to program the serializer?

There are many examples on the Robotic Connections website written in C# for just about any sensor or motor set up you might need.

4. is it actualy worth the money or is there another, better one out there that works with the .Net framework?

for $99 it is prolly your best bet, depending on how complex you are planning on getting with your bot. Also plays very friendly with PWM and IC2.

5. are there lots of tutorials for it and support?