PDA

View Full Version : Quadruped Design problems

cshepp
06-18-2010, 06:06 PM
Hi everyone. I just completed my first robot build - a quadruped. I knew what I wanted from the start, and I built exactly what I had planned. The problem is that when I finally got everything together and started programming, it's having problems standing and moving.

First, let me share some details of the build and then I'll propose some of the changes I want to make.

The bot is a 3 DOF quadruped powered by Hitec 332HDs. I chose the 322HDs because they were cheap and I'm a poor college student. I realize that replacing them would probably fix my problem, but I can't afford it.

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1268/4712410627_f1e78ebc95.jpg

The chassis is a Radio Shack project box, which, in hindsight, is probably way too heavy.

Here's a close-up of the leg design:

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4067/4713051890_5d83ab53f0.jpg

I think that decreasing the weight of the chassis (material/design suggestions appreciated) is probably my best bet. If that doesn't work, I could stack the leg servos to make the leg shorter, and shorten the dowel rod as well.

Any other suggestions?

Thanks

gdubb2
06-18-2010, 06:57 PM
Hey cshepp,

You've created 2 levers that are causing the servos to work hard. The first is the top leg servo, where the dowel pushes up against the bracket causing stress on the servo. The second is the combination of the dowell, upper leg servo, and lower servo body acting as a lever against the lower servo gears. Since these two servos are operating within the same plane, they are actually just duplicating one another.

You might consider removing the last servo, rotating the second one 180 degs. and just mount a small stub of dowel on the bottom of the servo. You would get the same basic movement, eliminated 4 servos, and taken most of the stress off of the leg servo since the pressure is now pushing up instead of acting like a lever.