PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] Disable the brakes on Fracmo motor?



shobley
07-03-2010, 12:42 AM
I just disassembled a wheelchair that uses Fracmo motors.

As far as I can tell these have electric brakes requiring 24v to disengage them.

Does anyone know what the current is?
Do I need to include some kind of limiter in the circuit?

I'm thinking that maybe I should remove them - is this advisable - and are there any resources on doing this?

Thanks,
Steve

CoooL
07-03-2010, 07:20 AM
my framco motors uses 12 volts.. (24 volts in series) wouldn't the be good to have in case your robot is on a steep incline?

I Havent tried to remove mine.. but ive thought about putting an encoder on the end of the motor perhaps..

shobley
07-03-2010, 10:56 AM
I just took mine off, it was pretty simple - just don't be tempted to removed the two main silver bolts that hold the motor assembly together - it took about an hour to get that all put back together and aligned correctly.

You can just remove the "brake plate" right on the end of the motor once the cap is removed. Then they will free-wheel.

Easy to replace too.

Steve

CoooL
07-04-2010, 05:47 AM
got some pictures..? :) ive put some thought in to it.. the are just power robbers..