PDA

View Full Version : Tekkotsu vs. ROS

RobotAtlas
07-31-2010, 12:03 PM
I think we have some people on this forum that have experience with both Tekkotsu and ROS.
It would be very interesting to hear thoughts and opinions on how they compare.

lnxfergy
07-31-2010, 02:49 PM
Our University lab had been using Tekkotsu for about 5 years (since it first came out), and I've been working with this group since spring of 2008. We were of course using AIBOs originally, and more recently had CMU Chiaras, and have now moved onto using mostly our iRobot Create + laptop setups. We've also very recently made the decision to move to ROS.

Tekkotsu has a specific goal: to get advanced algorithms into the hands of undergraduate students in a single semester robotics course -- at this, it excels. However, as a more general research tool, it's a bit cumbersome. I find it to be easier to integrate new hardware and external libraries into ROS. There's two main reasons for this. First, ROS uses a distributed system which allows you to quickly tie in new modules, Tekkotsu on the hand compiles a massive 200mb library file + 30mb executable, they've made great strides in recent years in bringing down the compile time, but it's still much slower to develop low-level code in Tekkotsu than in ROS. Second, everything in Tekkotsu has to be C++ (or their state machine language), whereas I can integrate Python, Java, Lisp, or Octave based code into ROS. This second item is especially important for us, as our students have widely varying backgrounds, and I'd rather they spend the time learning robotics than fighting with the oddities of C++.