PDA

View Full Version : RX-64 Robotic Paintball Gun Sentry



DresnerRobotics
08-07-2010, 08:04 PM
Hey guys,

Sneak peak at my latest project for work to promote our upcoming Pan/Tilt line; an RX-64 Dynamixel + ArbotiX based Robot Paintball Gun Turret! We'll have more info on this, as well as a write-up and all the DXF files I used to build the base.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5M0d3LCy3YQ

Connor
08-07-2010, 11:55 PM
You, are just EVIL. Better hope the land lord doesn't see this video.. He might charge you some $$ to clean up that mess! Ha!

Thanks, Connor

DresnerRobotics
08-08-2010, 07:47 AM
Those damn kids in the neighborhood, I'll tell ya.

billyzelsnack
08-08-2010, 09:40 AM
I guess they'll stay off the lawn now.

zoomkat
08-08-2010, 12:52 PM
Interesting setup, but it looks like the gun tilt setup could be better designed for control for verticle control of the gun.

DresnerRobotics
08-08-2010, 04:10 PM
Well, this was our very first firing/aiming test on this- it's running at 1/5 it's potential resolution with no speed ramping to speak of and direct-proportional control. Improving the software will help the aiming considerably.

Care to give a little insight? 'could be better designed' isn't exactly constructive feedback.

The servos themselves are more than strong enough for a direct drive pan/tilt, so using a lever setup is kind of a moot point. Really, the software just needs work (which was mentioned in the video).

darkback2
08-08-2010, 04:54 PM
Great job Tybes. At first I thought kick would be an issue, but it is obviously not given how amazingly strong those servos are. One reason I would consider using a lever or gear system would be to increase the resolution over a smaller range...This is Also mute because you were running at really low resolution the video.

Only thing I can even dream of adding would be a camera for first person shooting.

Again, great work.

DB

zoomkat
08-08-2010, 09:13 PM
I was going to recomend a lever type of arrangement for tilting the gun (I'd assume usable aiming range would probably be 30 deg or less). If the high end servos can get the job done then no need to change. If someone wanted to make a similar setup using standard types of servos, then levers and a balanced gun setup would probably be appropriate.

DresnerRobotics
08-08-2010, 10:43 PM
Yeah, given the torque of these servos, it's sort of overkill. That, and this is mostly just a quick project so we can showcase the higher end pan/tilt kits' capabilities. Wanted to keep it simple.

DresnerRobotics
08-09-2010, 05:47 PM
Here's a bit more action, with updated aiming code:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qL_Yi-fdsc8

darkback2
08-10-2010, 09:05 AM
I want your job.

:D

DresnerRobotics
08-10-2010, 10:07 AM
Come be my unpaid intern next summer! A fitting role for a well respected school teacher I'd say!

darkback2
08-10-2010, 10:40 AM
I'm seriously considering taking you up on that btw...don't let the word out I don't want to have to compete to be an unpaid servant.

DresnerRobotics
08-16-2010, 08:57 PM
Wrote up a quick object tracking demo using Roborealm, Python, and the ArbotiX. This is in preparation for the next step in the Paintball Gun Sentry with object tracking/firing at helpless interns.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LoBoepo7hb0


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=brrLbHC5zRY

Zenta
08-17-2010, 12:43 AM
Wrote up a quick object tracking demo using Roborealm, Python, and the ArbotiX. This is in preparation for the next step in the Paintball Gun Sentry with object tracking/firing at helpless interns.
LOL !
You are a dead guy DB..

Cool demo Tyberius, the glitches are they caused by RoboRealm or that you move the object to fast?

DresnerRobotics
08-17-2010, 01:04 AM
It lost the object a few times, mostly because I moved out of frame too quickly. It happened even with the fastest RX-24F dynamixels, so I believe it's simply a limitation of the framerate cap of 30 fps on Roborealm. The servos were not moving max speed even when though they were capable.

JonHylands
08-17-2010, 07:38 AM
I'm pretty sure RoboRealm doesn't have a framerate cap of 30 fps - we regularly get 60 fps of raw video using RoboRealm and our Prosilica cameras. Once you start throwing filters in there it slows down, but it doesn't start at 30 fps.

- Jon

DresnerRobotics
08-17-2010, 08:44 AM
I was unable to get it above 30fps, regardless of the resolution. The FPS setting wouldn't budge above 30 either, even when I tried to set it manually.

JonHylands
08-17-2010, 08:46 AM
I suspect that is more a limitation in your camera than in RoboRealm...

- Jon

DresnerRobotics
08-17-2010, 09:44 AM
I thought it might be too, same framerate cap at 30 between 720, 640, 320, and 240 res is weird though.

JonHylands
08-17-2010, 10:02 AM
I have a USB camera that tops out at 30 fps regardless of the resolution - its not that weird.

Like I said, though, my Prosilica camera runs at 60 fps in RoboRealm...

- Jon

SteamAutomaton
09-04-2010, 05:21 AM
I want your job.

:D
So do I!

SA:D