PDA

View Full Version : programming languages

r4pt0r2009
08-13-2010, 06:55 AM
I am absolutely new to robotics. I want to get involved in robotics as a hobby. What programming languages do I need to know to work with these robotics kits? To what extent do i have to be a programmer- do I need a high level of skill to make a hexapod kit or a biped kit. Actually these specific robots are my passion.

darkback2
08-13-2010, 08:12 AM
I'm no expert in programming by any means...but here is my 2cents anyway.

You don't need to know anything. You just have to be willing to do the research necessary to learn anything.

DB

defwheezer
08-13-2010, 11:07 AM
It sure helps to know fundamental BASIC to be able to understand even the simplest controls used in robotics. Luckily, they don't call it "BASIC" for nothing- dead easy to learn.

lnxfergy
08-13-2010, 12:29 PM
Programming languages are not one-size-fits-all.

Most of the Lynxmotion hexapod and biped kits using the BASIC atom -- so you'd probably want to learn BASIC at some point with them, although if all you want to do is build it and leave it stock you'd never have to even mess with the code.

The new hexapod kits that Trossen is coming out with use an ArbotiX -- so they're C/C++ based (like all the Arduino stuff as well). In this case again, they come preloaded with code, so you don't *have* to learn the language -- although if you want to alter anything, you'd have to. In this case, the C/C++ used in the Arduino environment is actually a pretty small subset of C/C++ in general, and so the learning curve is a bit higher than BASIC, but not by much.

The Bioloid kit comes with a GUI based drag-and-drop programming solution -- so no language learning is needed (although, there is typically a limit to how sophisticated your programs can get when working with GUIs).