PDA

View Full Version : Trying PyPose with a USB2Dynamixel



Pi Robot
08-23-2010, 02:36 PM
Hello Fergs,

I'm finally getting around to trying out your ArbotiX software but at the moment all I have is a USB2Dynamixel. I am starting with the PyPose editor and I set the baud rate to 1000000 instead of 38400. I have 11 servos on my bus and when I do a "capture", the sliders move to the appropriate positions in the PyPose editor window and I get the "captured pose!" status message. So far so good. However, if I move the servos manually to a new position, highlight my captured pose, then click the "set" button to see if the servos will move to the pose, the servos do not move and I get the following console messages:

Setting pose...
Setting pose size at 11
Fail Read
Fail Read
Fail Read
Fail Read

Any thoughts on what might be going on? Should it even work with a USB2Dynamixel or only with the ArbotiX?

Thanks!
patrick

lnxfergy
08-23-2010, 02:44 PM
In addition to setting the baud to 1mbps, you need to set "interpolation" to false, as the USB2Dynamixel cannot do onboard smooth interpolation.

Eventually, we'll have an entirely new port dialog with these options available there, in the meantime, you'll have to edit the code.

-Fergs

Pi Robot
08-23-2010, 05:01 PM
That was it exactly--thanks!

--patrick