PDA

View Full Version : Understanding a 3-XBEE network?

Pi Robot
09-09-2010, 09:17 AM
I am new to using XBEE radios on my robot and I have a very basic question. So far I have only two radios, one attached to my PC using an XBEE explorer and the other attached to an ArbotiX controller. Everything works perfectly right out of the box.

So now I'm thinking of getting a third radio for my Serializer controller that is on the same robot. Is this all I need? In other words, can the explorer radio talk to the two radios at the same time using just a single serial port on the PC? I'm not sure how that would work so I'm hoping someone can straighten me out.

Thanks!
patrick

GoodRobot
09-09-2010, 10:05 AM
Yes, you can use one xbee radio to broadcast to several others that are all listening to the same "channel" - they call it a Personal Area Network (PAN).

The xbee radios are very flexible. You can create any number of different PANs - radios must be on the same PAN in order to communicate. And, you can also customize them to talk with only a single other radio on your PAN (every radio has a "source" and "destination" address that can be setup for it). Or mix and match "source" and "destination" identifiers in any way that suits your many-to-many interactions.

Out of the box I think the xbee's have a default PAN ID is set to 3332 and I think the "source" and "destination" addresses are both "0". So this makes them able to talk to each other right out of the box. So if you're just broadcasting to two xbees on your robot this should work well. However, if your two robot xbees are also sending data back, then they're also going to receive data from each other. So your setup may or may not work out of the box depending on whether you need your robot xbees to communicate back as well (and if that means they'll get confused by each other's commands).