PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] A question about Arbotix python library

zzl1007
11-16-2010, 12:35 PM
Hi Fergs,

My name is Xi and i'm a graduate student of electrical engineering. I'm now trying to mimic Patrick's Pi Robot's objecting tracking head part, using the Arbotix micro-controller. But i encounter some questions and would really appreciate it if you can give me some advice.

First, I have downloaded the Arbotix python library. And i also have successfully uploaded the sketch "ros.pde" to my Arbotix board. However, when i run the python code "arbotix.py", it doesn't work.

Here is the error:

>>>

Testing arbotix.py

Traceback (most recent call last):

File "C:\Documents and Settings\ee_admin\Desktop\arbotix-0013\pypose\arbotix.py", line 365, in <module>

d = ArbotiX(sys.argv[1]) # open a port

IndexError: list index out of range

So i browse the code, and made 2 changes:

1. I change the port name in __init__ to "COM3" which is the port in my case. (i have used a FTDI to USB converter)

2. I have deleted the "sys.argv[1]" in the last paragraph and leave it as: d = Arbotix(). Because after i type "print sys.argv", i just get the path of the Arbotix.py file.

Then after i run my revised version, the error changed. Now it is:

File "C:\Documents and Settings\ee_admin\Desktop\arbotix-0013\pypose\arbotix.py", line 365, in <module>

d = ArbotiX() # open a port

File "C:\Documents and Settings\ee_admin\Desktop\arbotix-0013\pypose\arbotix.py", line 55, in __init__

self.ser.open()

File "C:\Python26\lib\site-packages\serial\serialwin32.py", line 56, in open

raise SerialException("could not open port %s: %s" % (self.portstr, ctypes.WinError()))

SerialException: could not open port COM3: [Error 5] Access is denied.

Now it seems that it can recognize COM3, but cannot use it. Then i restart everything, and rerun my revised code again, however, it is running without any error. But nothing can be read from the servo. The prompt is like this:

Testing arbotix.py