PDA

View Full Version : Basic PIR Motion Tracking????

timcallinan
11-28-2010, 04:21 PM
Hello All,
I'm looking for a little advice and help. I've been building a robot for the last 3 months and here is what i have so far.
http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/gallery/files/5/0/5/0/picture_2.jpg

I've used a 3D printer, dynamixel actuators and labview for movement. I got that work - no problem there. If you can see - i have 2 camera on the head and i'm actually using only one. I've been doing alot of labview motion tracking using the camera (image subtraction and all that) and its too complicated and difficult for my intelligence anyhow.

I'm planning on putting the robot in our college hallway and i would like the head to follow somebody walking down the hall. The robot will be fixed to a table. Motion tracking using the camera is not going to work so i need another method.

Would it be possible to use maybe 3 PIR sensors to determine whether someone is to the left, center or right of the robot? The person would be between 0.5m and 3 meters from the table.

There is very large windows near the robot so the ambient light will change around the robot will this effect the sensors? Maybe i could set different threshold values?

Do you guys have any other advice on the robot? I hope i've explained what im trying to do. Thanks for your help.
-Tim

timcallinan
11-28-2010, 05:08 PM
Hi FunnyRobot,
Thanks for the advice but I can do color tracking of objects using the National instruments Vision software already. The problem with someone walking down the hall is you cant rely on them wearing a certain color. I'll check it out but i dont think it would work.
-Tim

timcallinan
11-28-2010, 06:42 PM