PDA

View Full Version : Who uses what cad program?

rebel
01-13-2011, 08:59 PM
My QCAD crashed and I need help to get a new program.
So I thought we could talk about pluses and minuses of CAD programs.
And to help me pick my next CAD program, LOL.

DresnerRobotics
01-13-2011, 09:08 PM
Autodesk Inventor all the way here. It does everything I need and more. If you're a student (or have access to a .edu email address) it's free.

elios
01-13-2011, 09:09 PM
I use solidworks free student 150 day license. My father set up the main distributor down in Australasia so I just keep asking for new ones :)

It is an awesome program, recently invested in a commerical license too.

[edit] Tybs, no. just no. autodesk = bad

rebel
01-13-2011, 09:15 PM
Tyb how do I get that as a student, I am, and I heard that is the best.
Do you think it is?

lnxfergy
01-13-2011, 09:19 PM
Tyb how do I get that as a student, I am, and I heard that is the best.
Do you think it is?

http://students.autodesk.com/

I'm also an Inventor user -- although I don't dare start a debate over which is "best" -- a lot of it depends on personal preference (kinda like programming languages). Either Inventor or Solidworks will get the job done. Note though, that full 3d parametric modeling is a big step up from QCad, and there is a bit of a learning curve (although there is a whole set of tutorials in Inventor, I'm sure SolidWorks has the same).

-Fergs

rebel
01-13-2011, 09:23 PM
OK, do not mean to do this, but which one is easier.
And can either convert from one type of file to another?

DresnerRobotics
01-13-2011, 09:33 PM
I use solidworks free student 150 day license. My father set up the main distributor down in Australasia so I just keep asking for new ones :)

It is an awesome program, recently invested in a commerical license too.

[edit] Tybs, no. just no. autodesk = bad