PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] getting phidgets data to read as a joystick

wind27382
01-15-2011, 09:59 PM
Basically I'm an artist who has been working in 3D graphics for the last 6 years. I have a great idea to use data from phidgets sensors as controllers for my animation. the problem is as far as I can tell I need each phidgets sensor to read as it's own virtual joystick. So I basically need for someone to be kind enough to point me in the right direction as far as getting phidgets sensor data to read as a virtual joystick.

darkback2
01-15-2011, 10:45 PM
Im not sure that I can be of help, but...what software are you using? You mit not be able to get the phidgets to show up as a joystick, but depending I might be able to make it into either a MIDI signal, or UDP. basically you need to know wht protocal you are trying to use, and get something that converts to that protocal. So if your software can listen to either midi or UDP I would be happy to help.

DB

parallax
01-16-2011, 01:45 AM
One question- why do you need this specifically as joystick data? Are you just using joystick as an analogy? If so, couldn't you just convert the sensor values to the appropriate ranges for your project? Phidgets have libraries and support for a ton of languages and there should be an appropriate function in there somewhere for what you are trying to do. Check out their website under the tab "Programming" and you'll find a ton of sample apps, libraries and documentation on your specific piece of hardware.

However if you do need to do this from scratch and have your system treat the Phidget as a joystick and the platform for your project is a PC running a Windows OS...