PDA

View Full Version : Trouble compiling PhantomX Hexapod Sketch

Gilrock
01-31-2011, 09:40 AM
I recently purchased the PhantomX Hexapod AX12+ kit and I'm trying to get the sketch I downloaded from the products web page to compile. I've done Atmel AVR firmware for several years but only using AVR Studio so I'm new to using the Arduino software. I have arduino-0022 installed and I downloaded the arbotix-0013. I made the arbotix folder my default sketch folder so that the libraries could be directly imported in Arduino and the sketches would show up in the flyout menu.

I'm going from memory here but the compile errors were all from the ax12.cpp file not finding several register definitions like "UCSR1B". I recognize that as one of the standard definitions for a register in an Atmel AVR processor...serial port I think. So I'm not sure if I missed adding a library into the Arduino directories or what.

I see this line in ax12.cpp:
#include "wiring.h" // we need this for the serial port defines
It looks like this would have been the file to contain the missing definitions but I don't think I got this file with anything I downloaded for the Arbotix or PhantomX Hexapod code.

Thanks,
Gil

lnxfergy
01-31-2011, 09:45 AM
Did you select the "arbotix" from the drop down menu as your board type in the Arduino IDE? (the default Arduino boards wouldn't have this register, which is the most likely cause of issues if you have a correct installation)

-Fergs

DresnerRobotics
01-31-2011, 10:05 AM
The Arbotix should be pre-programmed btw!

Gilrock
01-31-2011, 10:16 AM
No I didn't...that must be it. I'll try that when I get home tonight.

The only other time I've used the Arduino software was for a sumo I started building for a robotics club at work. It has an ATMega328 and I know I've compiled/downloaded sketches into that. I had help setting up the Arduino software so I don't remember what it was set to.

Thanks,
Gil

Gilrock
01-31-2011, 10:19 AM