PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] Charging computer NIHM battery pack

Xalu
06-30-2011, 04:37 PM
Hi,

I just wanted to see what everyone thought of my idea. Seeing as I am not an electronic expert.

I have the irobot create and I have the attached CPU. I purchased a battery set up that pretty much mimics what the irobot uses. 12 subC nihm batteries @ 3800mah.

The create is capable of going to the charging base on its own. So I wanted to see if I am able to hardwire my new battery to the charging terminals that the current battery already uses. My hope is that the charger inside the irobot will be able to charge both batteries.

The only issues I can think of is that it will take longer to charge. Then the more serious one, if one battery is more discharged then another.

Does anyone have any input on this, could offer any advice or solutions?

Having an automated charge process would be golden in my book. So I will be shooting for it.

Xalu
06-30-2011, 06:36 PM
I was just thinking of running the two batteries in parallel. That way the robot sees one battery, but the capacity is doubled. I'll put the battery in the cargo bay and make one big battery at 14.4 volts with 24 batteries.

Mona
11-17-2011, 05:22 PM
I think that's a great idea, in fact, I am trying to do something quite similar. I am trying to add a second battery to my laptop computer, and will have to figure out pretty much the same thing. I am interested to see what you figure out, and if what you figure out will be applicable to my own project. At this point, I have no idea where to start, except for maybe stopping in hhgregg (http://www.indeed.com/cmp/Hhgregg) or somewhere and picking up an extra laptop battery. If I figure anything out, I will be sure to share it here. Thanks.

vic7767
11-17-2011, 06:23 PM