PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] Wheels for Dynamixel Servos

SamQ
07-22-2011, 02:06 AM
Where may I get at least six inch diameter wheels that will easily attach to a Dynamixel servo?
Is there an easy way to get any wheel attached to a Dynamixel servo?

How do I determine how much weight a wheel can hold before it collapses/fails? (equation?)
The hub of the wheel should preferably not be plastic.

Also, what parts would you recommend I use if I were to configure a single powered caster assembly comprised of two 6 inch diameter wheels where I'd use two EX-106 Dynamixel servos (maybe coupled together) to power each wheel (one servo per wheel) for traveling along a surface (pitch plane) and one Dynamixel-64 servo to power angular rotation (yaw plane). Would I need any brackets to accomplish this configuration?

I'm a strong programmer, but a weak mechanical engineer, so I need some guidance conceptualizing the mechanical configuration of the dual-wheel powered caster assembly mentioned above.

Thanks,
Sam Q

cire
07-27-2011, 07:56 PM
Where may I get at least six inch diameter wheels that will easily attach to a Dynamixel servo?
Is there an easy way to get any wheel attached to a Dynamixel servo?

There is a wheel with the bioloid kit, it is not 6" diameter though. It is fairly easy to bolt a wheel on though, if you have the right bolt pattern in the wheel, you would probably have to custom make it.

How do I determine how much weight a wheel can hold before it collapses/fails? (equation?)
The hub of the wheel should preferably not be plastic.

This depends on a lot of things, you'll have to take a few mechanical engineering classes to be able to correctly calculate it. More then likely you will not have enough torque to drive whatever you are driving before a wheel would colapse, unless you make it out of foam or something.