PDA

View Full Version : [Discussion] Location Tracking Using 802.11 Wireless Access Points

Asimovian
08-04-2011, 10:34 PM
Hello everyone,

This post may or may not be of use or interest to members here but I think it’s a bit of interesting information and could possibly be used in some applications.

I'm far from an expert in any of this field so I welcome any contributions, corrections, additions, or comments. Please be nice :) as I’ve only collected this information out of interest so I’m probably missing a lot.

I'll try to keep this as a general outline of the methodology and technology. I've gathered this information from a lot of different sources (referenced below) so please refer to them if you’d like more in-depth explanations.

Also apologies for the images, photobucket does some weird things sometimes.

1. Intro
Wireless routers, access points and other RF devices are now a very common and often overlooked piece of hardware. Using the Received Signal Strength Indicator from one or multiple devices and basic math knowledge we can find the distance from these devices and calculate a location. The main reason why this has not become commonplace, and anyone who has experimented with this will know, is that location tracking using these signals is not very accurate. Robotics in general requires a high level of precision often within fractions of a millimetre. Having a vague location within a few feet just isn’t good enough.

However, there are situations where this may be acceptable and there are a few steps that can be taken to increase the accuracy of the reading.

2. Theory
2.1 Triangulation and trilateration