PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] Force sensors...

konan
01-30-2012, 07:45 AM
Greetings to all!

Please excuse me if this seems like a trivial question, but I am new to the field gathering information for an upcoming project.

What sort of sensors are available for directly measuring force? Something like a small digital scale that outputs a voltage proportionally to the force applied. I need to be able to have a robotic arm pushing on a target, and measure the force as a function of time, so I need to be able to sample the data at at least 100 times a second. It could either simply output a small voltage that can be measured, or it can have a USB interface.

The reason why I would like this is to be able to measure the strength curves associated with various choices of actuators, and account for them pragmatically.

I'd appreciate any input that you might have, and relevant segways are welcome as well :D
Konan

parallax
02-06-2012, 12:53 PM
konan,

There are multiple ways to accomplish what you are seeking to do. Three types of sensor come to mind immediately which I will outline briefly below:

Force-sensitive Resistors (FSR)