PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] How to start off in microcontrollers?

Jheckman1986
05-28-2012, 03:42 PM
First of all i wanted to say hello and introduce myself to the forum!

Hello!

1. I have no experience whatsoever in programming!
2. I have basic understanding of electronics!
3. I am OK with soldering.

On to my needs....

I want to get into robotics as a hobby but i dislike the idea of using arduino simply because it does not seem to be as hands on like i want, my intention is to purchase the PICkit 3 system and program PIC micro controllers myself.

I want to start off by building a coffee can sized robot that moves around and detects obstacles and learns from them(I suppose that is a bit much), eventually i want to build up to robotic arms and stuff like that eventually to full sized arms and limbs.

Can anyone recommend any good books on starting off with programming a micro controller and secondly are there any good books that can dumb down the pin layout of a micro controller so i can understand how to hook it into a design?

I have another post on another website that may help to fill in any gaps, but it seems every one on that website wants me to use commercial equipment which is unacceptable to me since i feel it will cheapen the learning experience.
http://www.electronicspoint.com/start-off-microcontrollers-t248467.html#post1468756
What would you suggest?

jwatte
05-29-2012, 01:05 AM
"learning" from moving around is known as SLAM -- Simultaneous Localization And Mapping. It's pretty advanced stuff, because you have to build a geometric representation of where the robot (sensor) is, and remember it. Neither a PIC nor a AVR/Arduino will have enough RAM to actually store such a map, nor enough CPU to process anything more than the most basic geometry.