PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] Dynanixel PID / feedback algorithm questions

alonso
10-05-2012, 07:23 PM
Hi there!

I'm new to the robotics world and had some questions for you guys.

I'm starting to understand then parameters for PID control and it would be helpful to hear some real world examples of when it really comes in handy to have it and tune it properly.

Also I was wondering if people have written other feedback algorithms like the ones below:

Assisted No-Resistance - After turning the torque off for the servo, moving the horn still still takes some effort. Has someone written something that looks at the load being applied, and assists it a little bit to compensate for the friction created by the gears?

Elastic Resistance - Where you give it a target position goal and the further away from that position, the more to torque that's applied to fight back (Just like a spring)

Also I'm having trouble getting my MX-28T to reach the specs on the Internet. The fastest I can move it in wheel mode is around 34 RPM, but it's rated to move at 67 RPM @ 14.8v

I'm using 14.8v LiPo battery with a RoboPlus Dynamixel Wizard Softtware and USB2Dynamixel hardware. I tried playing with the PID, Torque Limit, Max Torque parameters to see if I could speed it up, but no luck.

Any idea on what might be slowing it down?

Thanks!
-Alonso Martinez

Th232
10-05-2012, 07:43 PM
I'm starting to understand then parameters for PID control and it would be helpful to hear some real world examples of when it really comes in handy to have it and tune it properly.