PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] Help with controlling an Dynamixel MX-28T with an Arduino Uno

beepboop
11-22-2012, 10:12 AM
Hello there community! I'm kind of new here, both to the forums and to the whole Arduino thing. But due to a school project, I've been tasked with controlling two Dynamixel MX-28T with a Wii Nunchuck via an Arduino Uno board.

However, like I said, I'm a complete noob. I know next to nothing about Arduinos and Dynamixel servo motors. But I do know that the Dynamixel MX-28T requires it's own library, which I got from here (http://code.google.com/p/slide-33/downloads/list). It verifies with the 1.0.2 Arduino environment.

And I was about to run the demo/test pde files included within, when I realized, that I don't know how to setup the circuitry. Like....at all. I've looked for it online, but all the tutorials and such are for the AX-12 series or they require that I have other things, like a tri-buffer, or a Driver board, or even the Sanguino....whatever that is.

Thus, I'm at my wit's end. I really am. I mean, I managed to put together a code that let's me control two normal PWM servo motors with the Wii nunchuck, so I just need help making the Wii Nunchuck values transfer to the Dynamixel. And everyone keeps telling me that the Arduino Uno has only one serial port and I don't get it. All the explanations are too technical for me.

So if someone could just talk to me like I'm an idiot (which I kinda am) and stick with me on this forum till I finish my project (Progress Reports are next week :sad:) there is a high chance that I might build a shrine in your name. Please....PLEASE help me.

Sincerely,
beepboop

tician
11-22-2012, 12:26 PM
The MX-28T has the same interface as the AX-series (0-5V half-duplex UART), so what works for AX will work for MX-__T.