PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] ScorpionX MX-64T Robot Turret

Max L
02-12-2013, 12:27 PM
Hi guys!

I’m quite new to the robotics stuff, hope someone can shed some light. I’ve decided to write here instead of support, maybe it will be useful for other newbies like me. Any help appreciated, thanks in advance.

Preface and what I’m trying to achieve:
All I need is a stationary platform with 2 DOF (turret) to orient a small piece of spatial pointing hardware (laser). Yes, simple as that. My typical laser weights are between 200-1200g (less than 10x2x2cm), I need to be able to re-orient one with frequency of about 50-60Hz, with frame-to-frame angular speed not greater than 30-40 rpm, while maintaining overall positioning error not greater than 4cm on target distance of 5m.

Following some recommendations, I’ve decided to stick to the Trossen’s robot turret kit. Given my specs/demands, the updated ScorpionX with its powerful yet precise MX-64 motor seemed to be an excellent choice. Unfortunately, there’s quite small info available.

User experience:
As said above, it’s quite short, but for now I can surely say to all newcomers like me:
1. YES, it’s very powerful, don’t be confused with the servo size. I’ve nearly damaged my equipment when I first started it.
2. Get some knowledge about firmware and controls right away. Methods for getting/setting data packets, especially for limiting angles and operation speeds/torques. For now, I’m just starting to learn this. BTW, the “Interbotix Robot Turret Manual & Protocol” which resides in the “Documentation” @ ScorpionX page IS NOT RELEVANT for ScorpionX *. This is sad (and it was the reason why I’ve learned #1 in a hard way).
*as for Feb, 12, 2013:
- goal positions are 0..4095 (not 0..1023 like in previous models), so be careful with appropriate lo/hi values;
- in commander ext protocol 'pan' and 'tilt' should be swapped with each other if you want to use "1" and "2" notation defined by default/