PDA

View Full Version : Hello all!

ImagineDesignBuildWI
03-06-2013, 06:32 PM
Hello everyone, I'm Jon. We are in the advanced planning stages of our shop called Imagine.Design.Build.
I have been tossing the idea around of a controlled access system. I'd like to take it a step further than a simple rfid system allowing access to a few doors. I'd like to have the ability to control access to all of the dangerous machines in the shop. I especially would like to be able to lock certain people out that have not been trained on the equipment. I see the rfid equipment on this site are read only, this would limit the ability to change access with the same card. Will the Arduino Read/Write modules commonly found on eBay be compatible with the wireless modules here? Please be kind, I'm new to this type of project. Thanks in advance! -Jon

jwatte
03-06-2013, 06:51 PM
Tech Shop has tried a system like this in their San Francisco and San Jose locations.

They do not store information on the cards, though; instead, each reader is connected to a central database, where all your equipment clearance is stored.

You should know that a "maker space" will probably be full of people who would like nothing better than develop a reader/writer that updates their card to have all the access allowed. (Just like a certain university ended up giving CS students free lunch for a while before they realized that cards with stored value are easy to fake...)

ImagineDesignBuildWI
03-06-2013, 07:01 PM
Our insurance company likes the idea. They also like the idea of a binder telling you not to shove your hand in the table saw. So I'm just trying to explore all options. Thanks for the reply.

ImagineDesignBuildWI
03-06-2013, 07:18 PM
Thoughts on optical fingerprint sensors for this application? Like I said, trying to explore any and all avenues.

jwatte
03-06-2013, 09:31 PM