PDA

View Full Version : Giskard: a low cost ROS powered robot

richardw347
05-21-2013, 10:26 AM
Hello everyone,

I wanted to introduce myself and my robot; I'm a PhD student at the University of Liverpool and am very lucky to be working with ROS and robots for my thesis. I've been working with robots as a hobby for a few years and I figured the best way to learn ROS was to build an awesome robot!

So inspired by Maxwell and Pi Robot and built Giskard:
http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=4749&d=1369147823

I tried to make it as cheaply as possible given that I'm a poor student so the frame is just a few pieces of wood from my local hardware store :tongue:. The drive system consists of a pair of EMG30 gear motors and a 30A Roboclaw motor driver, for the low level control I'm using a Red Back Spider Robot Controller (basically just an Arduino Mega) and using rosserial to control everything from a netbook. For sensors I've got a Pololu LPY510AL gyro to help with odometry, an Neato laser for 2D localisation and mapping and an Asus Xtion mounted on a pan-tilt head for 3D perception.

Early attempts at mapping my bedroom haven't gone so well:
http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=4754&d=1369149490

This is down to the poor odometry performance, which I think is a combination of low encoder resolution (I only get 360 counts per wheel rotation) and the wheels being really stiff rubber which means they slip a lot especially on carpets. I've been playing around a lot with calibration to see if I can get any better results but I haven't had much luck. I'm thinking of getting same Banebots wheels and getting some higher resolution encoders to see if that helps.

Any comments/input would be welcome!

jwatte
05-21-2013, 12:11 PM
Sounds great! I want to see pictures :-)