PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] Uploading the Hex_Mark II -- PhantomX robot

att5091
06-06-2013, 09:08 PM
Hey guys,

I am having a lot of trouble uploading the code to the arbotix from the Phanomx kit. I have never used a programmer before and I can't really find a clear and explicit guide on how to use it. I keep getting an error that says :

avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude: stk500v2_getsync(): timeout communicating with programmer
avrdude: stk500v2_command(): failed miserably to execute command 0x10
avrdude: initialization failed, rc=-1
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
this check.

avrdude: stk500v2_command(): failed miserably to execute command 0x11
avrdude: stk500v2_disable(): failed to leave programming mode

I am thinking about just getting an FTDI cable and avoiding the programmer. Any suggestions on what I am doing wrong / how to fix it? Thank you

darkback2
06-06-2013, 09:53 PM
Getting everything to work with the arbotix is really hard. Unfortunately one wrong move means things don't work.

Check to make sure you have the proper drivers installed for your serial adaptor. Also check to make sure you are using the right port. I have a programmer and I have to use the lower of the two available port numbers. Most of all check to see if you have the right drivers.

DB

KevinO
06-06-2013, 10:30 PM
I disagree with db on it being difficult. Your errors mean it isn't seeing your programmer. What os are you using. If windows could you go to the device manager and check that the programmer shows up there? If it does, check the com port matches what you are using. And last are you using the upload with programmer option?

DresnerRobotics
06-06-2013, 11:29 PM
Getting everything to work with the arbotix is really hard. Unfortunately one wrong move means things don't work.

DB