PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] Urgent Help WIth pypose and arbotix.(P.S. im a total beginner)

1313opkko
09-02-2013, 12:48 AM
I installed pypose software according to https://code.google.com/p/arbotix/wiki/GettingSetup
A (https://code.google.com/p/arbotix/wiki/GettingSetup)fter connecting the board to the pc and choosing the port(com port 7) and conecting the motor to the board with power supply of 13v (motor im using dx-117).

i tried to test the bot so i only connected a motor. By the way the arbotix comes with the rx shield.

I went to the servo terminal and clicked "ls" but it failed to read the motor
Fail Read
Fail Read
Read Failed: Servo ID = 1
Fail Read
Read Failed: Servo ID = 2
Fail Read
Read Failed: Servo ID = 3
Fail Read
Read Failed: Servo ID = 4
Fail Read
Read Failed: Servo ID = 5

any idea whats wrong? Just to let u know though when the power supply supplies power, the motor will blink a red light once.

Oh and im using the fdti cable

DresnerRobotics
09-02-2013, 01:18 AM
Have you set the baud rate on the DX-117?

1313opkko
09-02-2013, 10:46 PM
Do i set the baud rate using arduino? cos i still have misconceptions on how the board and motors work together

darkback2
09-03-2013, 08:16 AM
Ok...so two things. I am not sure if this will help you.

When two devices try to talk to eachother over a serial connection they have to be set to the same baud rate. If not then they can't talk to eachother. The easiest way to change the settings on a dynamixel servo is to use roboplus, the software from Robotis, and a usb2dynamixel connector.

Start off by checking everything and making sure you set things up as per the directions. There are a lot of little steps and it is easy to miss something especially when you are just starting out. After that if you need to you can order a usb2dynamixel.