PDA

View Full Version : Making a cheaper Poppy and other questions

jamma
11-11-2013, 06:25 PM
First time poster looking for advice. I run an annual Halloween animatronics show for our neighborhood association. I have 5 "Mars Attacks" aliens that entertain the crowd with various skits. While their heads have X, Y, Z & jaw action (plus two-axis eyes for some of them), the arm & leg movements are very simple puppet mechanisms. I'd like to upgrade them and am fascinated by the Poppy Project's body (http://www.poppy-project.org).

However, that's *way* too expensive for me. Most of the cost is in the Dynamixel servos they use (21x MX-28s, 2x MX-64 and 2x AX-12). I've never used the Dynamixel line before (but have seven years of controlling hobby servos using various micro-controllers). My question to the experienced group: How can I dramatically reduce the cost of the Poppy, given I don't need it's full capabilities in my application?

My animatronics do not have to be self-standing and don't really have much of a payload (the head is about 22 ounces, though, but again, I can support the body via shoulder wires or by pinning the pelvis to a support rod). I really just need to create "motorized marionettes". I'm willing to modify their CAD models to accommodate different servos (once they publish the models, that is). This could open the door to AX-12 / AX-18s. Also, I've found the SpringRC SR-518 knock-off of the AX-18s on ebay (e.g.: http://bit.ly/1j0nDPL ). Has anyone used these servos? They are supposed to be "Dynamixel compatible". Could this be a cheap option?

I could also save a ton of money by just using RX-24s and wouldn't need to make any changes to the parts files. I could save a little money by going with RX-28s all around. What's the downside of RX-28s vs MX-28s? Specs are mostly similar -- just looks like comms differences, which shouldn't matter in my application.